Image Transfer Quest

Hey it’s been a while since I posted with moving to a new home and getting a new job, it’s been crazy time here… But I am finally getting back in the saddle.

Sitting around thinking of what to do new@ Beau Sourire Bags, I was thinking I have always wanted to do image transferring of beautiful foliage on my bags, but didn’t know the best method. As everyone knows there are a lot of ways to do transferring but most are either messy, time-consuming, or even toxic. And I often found that they didn’t give a very good transfer of the images I wanted to show, unless very simple.

Well the other day I decided to re-visit my search and found a technique that is so simple it is ridiculous. All one has to do is print on freezer paper and you get a beautiful print. I always knew you could use freezer paper to stencil,  but now I have found a new use. I found the instructions at this site

http://home-frosting.blogspot.com/2011/08/transfer-using-freezer-paper.html?m=1

The really nice part of doing it with the freezer paper was how easy it was and you could reuse the paper over and over again: Good for Planet Earth

Now here are two Bamboo images on different  fabrications I have tried so far:

bamboo image on tweed

bamboo image on cotton

The first is on a very heavy weight burlap/tweed and it gives an almost pixel like image and the second is on a light weight cotton fabric. I used a photo image setting for the cotton and it put out too much ink and I got a watercolor effect, not really what I wanted but actually quite beautiful in a way.

So I am off to Longwood  Gardens to take some beautiful floral images to use on bags. Will keep everyone abreast of my next samples.

Leave a Reply

