New Shopper Tote Bags w/ New Cut-Out Handles (Includes Short How To)

In an effort to keep improving my handbags, I am always looking to new and exciting styles of handles and fabrics. Recently I found some beautiful, yet simple large metal eyelets (80cm) used to create cut-out handles on handbags.

14%2520-%25204-008

They are so simple to insert in the handles by just closing two bendable tabs that connect the two pieces together.

First, however you will need to do a little prep work to create a clean-looking handle. I first created a template from the one of the template sides, from here you can make any style handbag you would like to create. I have seen many style bags with these type of handles, though recently I saw that the Limited has a nice clutch bag.

1371321_100_1

It is important to trace the template to the outer fabric, lining, and fusible stabilizer. I made the fusible stabilizer the size of the entire top if the bag pattern to give the bag more support. I cut 4 pieces and ironed them in place. Once you have sewn the entire bag together, you will then need to sew around the tracings you made to strengthen before you cut.

I cut through both the outer fabric and the lining at the same time to keep the holes aligned. Finally the fun and easy part, I aligned the front and the back of the metal  eyelets and bent back the tabs.

I was amazed at how wonderful the bags handles turned out.

Here are the two bags I have created so far:

Shopper Tote Bag Black Shiny Canvas

shoppertote_blacksparkle_cutouthandle_front1shoppertote_blacksparkle_cutouthandle_foldedside

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a close up of the handle for this bag.

14%2520-%25201-009

Shopper Tote Leopard Fur

shoppertote_leopard_cutouthandle_frontshoppertote_leopard_cutouthandle_foldedhandle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a close up of this bag handle

shoppertote_leopard_cutouthandle_closeup

These bags came out so lovely, but I had first tried another style of cut out handle that used a binding fabric, but found this was not as clean a look. However, I feel that with more practice it would look better.

14%2520-%25203-00814%2520-%25202-007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did make this very pretty shopper tote bag in a purple upholstery fabric with self bias cut-out handles that did come out nicely.

Shopper Tote Purple Vine Upholstery
shopperPurplevine_selfHandle_frontside
14%2520-%25206

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The metal eyelets are not expensive but I wanted to links for tutorials for other style cut-out handles
http://www.deliacreates.com/fabric-basket-with-cut-out-handles/

http://sewsweetness.com/2011/12/tutorial-caliti-convertible-clutch.html

Leave a Reply

